Vice Grip (from SparkPeople - Friday, 2/12/10)

The adult human body is made up of about 60% water.

My daily fluid intake has not been.

When I started tracking my food about two weeks ago, I told myself that I would, for the first week, do two things. First, I would add more fruits and vegetables to my diet. Second, I would drink 8 8-ounce glasses of water per day. These seemed like easy "tweaks" to make in my daily routine, until I remembered something. I am a soda drinker.

That doesn't mean "I drink soda." Not like most people do. I mean, I am a capital "s," capital "d" Soda Drinker. I realized, rather abruptly, that until two weeks ago, other than a half of a cup of water at bedtime, soda was almost ALL I drank. Exclusively. And not that pansy DIET soda, either, thank you very much! Nah, that stuff'll KILL you! No, nothing but the "good stuff" for me!

Full-sugared, fully-caffeinated bubbly concoctions, usually starting by 9 o'clock in the morning. Ending, if I was being conscientious, about twelve hours later. I use a metric ton of ice in my sweat-proof 7-Eleven mug, so I rationalized that I wasn't actually drinking that much soda. But, having now measured it, I have determined that - even WITH my ice - I can cram a good 16 ounces of insulin-packed frostiness into my favorite plastic accessory. (220 calories, in case you're counting - and I AM, now) This I would fill, and refill, and refill again, usually, on a "good" day. Hmm...the resulting calories from 3 of those cups actually come close to a pretty evil number - apropos, I think.

So, the water flush began. Like ingesting a foreign substance, I choked it down that first day. I make a killer herbal iced tea, and have allowed that to count for about half of my daily "non-soda" fluid intake, which alleviated some of the suffering. I spent half of each day feeling like I was going to explode into a scale model of Niagara Falls. I got up in the middle of each night for, well, obvious reasons.

Here's the miracle part. Ready? It's only taken less than 2 weeks to not only get used to my new regime, but to EMBRACE it! I have spent years complaining that of all the vices I have put behind me, soda was the one that would have to be pried from my cold, dead hand (which could have proven prophetic should I have stayed the course). Has the frosty lure of the Mountain of Dew completely loosened its vice grip on me? Well, this isn't THAT much of a miracle story - yet, anyhow. But, I have put new parameters into place for myself:

NO soda until I have ingested at least FOUR glasses of water (or herbal tea)
NO soda before noon, and
NO cheating: I log what I drink. Period. All eleventy-jillion calories of it.

What this has done is caused me to naturally reduce my sugary-soda intake to about 16 ounces a day. And, if I feel I "need" it, a (gasp!) DIET soda at night (Diet Cherry Dr Pepper is my new buddy). Best of all, it has created in me a DESIRE to drink water - such that if I am "under" my goal at a certain point in the day, I feel it like a stranded dude in the desert with nothing but Saltines to eat.

I'll take my "miracles" where I can get them. Big OR small. For ME, this is big. Soon to get even bigger, I'll wager.

Comments

leona said…
Way to go Kat!I have not been as good tracking my calories and numbers but I am with ya! May the wave of water embrace us all!

Popular Posts